Mersey Bowmen has six league tennis teams in the Liverpool league: three men’s and three ladies’, plus mixed teams that compete in the Liverpool League’s two cup competitions, the Fairlawn and the Brockbank.  We also have three teams in the Wirral winter league.

In the Liverpool leagues we have three men’s teams in divisions B, D and G and women’s teams in divisions A, B and D. Our ladies 1sts have good history, winning division A in 2011 and 2014, and finishing runners up in 2012 and 2013, and from 2015 to 2019.

We entered two teams in to the Wirral winter league in 2016 and this has been a success and popular move for us. We won our divisions C and D in the first year and in 2017 entered three teams in the winter leagues, mixing strong players with those who wanted to learn from some good league matches.

You can read more about the Wirral league and see the league tables here.

Our mixed teams continue to punch above their weight, winning the Fairlawn Trophy in 2018 and reaching the final in 2009 and 2010, and the semi-final of the Brockbank in 2011 and 2012.

Both the men’s and ladies’ teams also play in the Lancashire Cup competitions, the Roscoe and Ransome trophies for men, and the Liebert Rose Bowl and Ralph Bint Trophy for women. The ladies won the Ralph Bint trophy in 2007, and finished runners up in 2012.

All players are welcome to join the teams; team practises are held before the start of the Liverpool league season, usually in March to April, and you’ll be able to find more details on the website and in the newsletter nearer the time.

If you’re interested in playing league and cup tennis, have a word with one of our captains. This coming season’s team captains are:

Men’s captain: Tom Inns (07809 157026)

Ladies’ captain: Sue Critchley (07872 149820)